Monday, September 27, 2010

Heptamerous Calamities?

Nahum Sarna suggests that there is a seven-step sequence in the calamities that befall Job:

1. Sabeans raid oxen and donkeys
2. Sabeans kill the servants
3. Fire of God consumes sheep
4. Fire of God consumes servants
5. Chaldeans raid camels
6. Chaldeans kill the servants
7. Wind strikes the house and kills children


Bill said...

Where is number 4?

Toby said...

Ha! Oops. There it is hiding in the number 3. Fixed now.

Not sure I buy this, but an intriguing idea nevertheless.